February TBR

img_4437

New month, new books. A lovely sentence, isn’t it? Especially the second part of it 🙂

I spent most of January finishing all the Christmas books that I didn’t manage to read before the 24th of December. Which was really nice and made me realize that Christmas books can be read all year long. Awesome news for me, because I absolutely love Christmas. And we’re talking obsessively loving it. Like wanting to have Christmas every single day. 365 days of the year.

But anyhow 🙂 I have read my way through my Christmas stack and am now moving on to new pastures which are looking really lovely and diverse this month. So far I have six books on my February TBR list and they all couldn’t be more different. The only thing that is missing, I believe, is an old classic like Charles Dickens’ Oliver Twist (a book that sits unread in my bookshelf oO). But even without it, my list looks pretty amazing and I can’t wait to start!

First off we have two lifestyle/health/cook books. I have recently discovered way too many British Youtubers and am now absolutely addicted and hooked. Which is good for my inspiration and everything, but very bad for my productivity. I’m sure you know what I’m talking about… 🙂 Two of the Youtubers I started watching just happened to be fitness/health bloggers who had recently brought out a book. So naturally, I had to buy it. Because that’s what you do with books. You buy them 🙂

img_4419

The first one is eat smart by Niomi Smart. It is full of different healthy (vegan) recipes from snacks, to dinner, all the way to drinks. Now, I am not a vegan, but many of the recipes in the book look really yummy and I just want to try out new things. I have already made her granola so far and me and the boyfriend have devoured it every morning for the last couple of days. So, I really can’t wait to start more recipe-testing.

The second Youtuber book is STRONG by Zanna van Dijk and this one looks even better than the one by Niomi Smart! I have already quickly flicked through it and there are some really quick and easy workouts, as well as general health and fitness tips and of course some recipe. What I love about Zanna’s Youtube Channel is that her videos always point out the importance of balance which is something I often struggle with. So I’m really hoping that I can find some good tips and tricks and some delicious new recipes away from the book.

img_4452

Next up, we have a “Chick Lit” (I really want to use a different term, any ideas?) book by Alexandra Brown. I have read her book The Great Christmas Knit Off after Christmas and have really enjoyed it. It was my first book by that author, so I thought I’d see what other books she has written. I’m currently reading Cupcakes at Carrington’s which is also by Alexandra Brown. But to be honest, I’m not enjoying it as much as The Great Christmas Knit Off, so I’m really curious to see if I like The Great Village Show (the one on my TBR list xD) better. I hope that I will because it plays in the same little town as The Great Christmas Knit Off and I think that we will get to meet some of the old characters again, which is always nice 🙂

img_4449

In the sort of genre as The Great Village Show we also have two new releases by two of my favorite authors: Sophie Kinsella and Jenny Colgan. Now both books haven’t been released, but will be soon!!!!! I’m sorry, but there really aren’t enough words to describe my excitement about these two books! The first one is My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella and I mean: did you read the title? Doesn’t it sound amazing already?! From what I’ve heard so far, it is all about this girl who gets caught up in the “un-reality” of social media and the lives we portray on there. A topic we all can relate to, right? The book will be out on February 7th and I sure will go and buy one that day! Sadly, I will only have two days to read it (which will be enough, I’m sure xD) because just two days after that, on February 9th the new book by Jenny Colgan called The Summer Seaside Kitchen is released. Now. I’m going to be totally honest with you here. I have no idea what that one will be about. But it’s a Jenny Colgan book. And that already says enough! So that one will certainly be one of the books I’m really looking forward to reading this month!

img_4432

And then last but not least, we have a book which is again totally different. Have any of you read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer? My university professor recommended it in one of my American literature classes and I believe that it really is worth reading. It is written from the perspective of a little boy who has lost his father in 9/11 and is now trying to cope with the aftermath of that loss. If you haven’t read it yet, I highly recommend you do. It was one of the books that really left a mark on me… Why am I telling you that? Well, because the last book on my February TBR list is Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer. It is about a young man arriving in the Ukraine to find the woman who has saved his grandfather from the Nazis. All he has is an old photograph and a somewhat dubious and uncanny translator… It certainly doesn’t sound like something that I would read on a daily basis, but I’m still looking forward to reading it as I am sure that it will trigger my mind and be a really fulfilling reading experience.

Well, that’s it for my February TBR list. Six books doesn’t sound like much, but February is a short and very busy month. So fingers crossed that I will manage to get through all of them. I will keep you updated on my progress.

In the meantime, I would love to hear what books you want to read in February. Or maybe you have already read one or the other book from my TBR list? Let me hear in the comments 🙂

One thought on “February TBR

  1. Pingback: The Summer Seaside Kitchen by Jenny Colgan | UnwrappedDreams

Leave a Reply

