STRONG by Zanna van Djik

First things first, isn’t Zanna van Djik and absolutely beautiful name? It sounds so lovely on the ear. No? Oh whatever then 🙂

After watching an old episode of The Great British Bake Off and craving all things cake yesterday, I’m amazed that I actually ended up testing one of Zanna’s recipes today like I planned. Because what I cooked sure wasn’t a cake… But it was just as yummy 🙂

thumb_img_4475_1024

I started following Zanna on YouTube a few weeks ago and I have since fallen in love with her. There’s something about her approach to health and fitness that sounds right to me.

I’m sure that I’m not the only one here who has read her fair share of fitness books and health related blog posts and has tried out all kinds of different things. For one, I used to be a huge fan of Chris and Heidi Powell. But I’m not anymore. Because something about their way of doing things no longer fit me. I’m not saying that their approach is wrong. It’s just that my life is different now. Which is exactly why I loved reading Zanna’s book. And it has everything in there you need to know in order to live a balanced and healthy life. 

I originally bought the book because I wanted to try out the recipes (there’s a picture for every single one of them!). Which means that I wasn’t even really aware of the fact that there would be this huge section on workouts, nutrition and all the other things you need to get started on your balanced life.

The book is split up into two parts. First up you have the MOVE part which is all about, well…moving 🙂 Zanna explains very nicely what resistance training is and why you need it in your life. She then gives you a variety of different exercises (again with all the pictures you need) before incorporating them into different workouts. There is also a really nice section about different ways to get your sweat on in a really short amount of time, which is perfect because time usually is something we all lack. There really are no excuses anymore now, are there? 🙂

The second part of the book (NOURISH) focuses on everything related to food. And don’t we all like eating? 🙂 What I really like about STRONG and about Zanna’s “philosophy” in general is the fact that she promotes a very healthy and balanced relationship with food. Because honestly, who wants to just never eat carbs again or completely forget about chocolate?! Not me. That’s for sure 🙂 So STRONG is really perfect for me. And the recipes look absolutely delicious! Obviously I haven’t tried all of them yet, but the frittata sure was lovely. I might have switched it up a bit by supplementing the goat cheese with feta and adding some cherry tomatoes. But other than that, I followed the recipe meticulously (took me a very long time to find that word, dang it! :)). And the result was delicious. I served mine with some carrot sticks, cherry tomatoes and cottage cheese which was about to expire. Oops 🙂

Anyway, I’m sure that STRONG will be a book which I will get back to many times and which will bring me joy for many more meals to come :). If you are like me and are always looking for new recipes or new ways to motivate you to balance your life a bit better, I really recommend you buy the book. I got mine off of Amazon for £6 or something. Zanna also makes funny vlogs and lovely videos over on YouTube. So if you like procrastinating every now and again and are looking for some new ways to do so, make sure to check out her YouTube channel. She is currently working up a storm in Thailand which really makes me want to go on holidays… So that’s that 🙂

I would love to hear what your favorite ways to stay healthy are and whether you have any other books, recipes or people which/who motivate you to stay balanced and healthy.

4 thoughts on “STRONG by Zanna van Djik

  1. Ohh, this looks so tasty. I already ate my dinner, but now I found myself craving for more, because of your post!
    I have to admit, I am really bad when it comes to eating healthy. The most healthy that comes to my mind is watching Raw Kristina on Youtube, but I almost never have raw vegan whole day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

