The Summer Seaside Kitchen by Jenny Colgan

thumb_img_4567_1024-2

If you follow me on any of my social media accounts you might already know that I went on some kind of unintended book haul. I went to my local bookstore intending to buy two new releases and walked out with an entire truck load full of books. I was over the moon. My bank account not so much. But oh what 🙂

However! The Summer Seaside Kitchen by Jenny Colgan was actually on my original to buy list AND on my February TBR list, so we’re all good here 🙂 Plus, even if this wasn’t the case, buying this book was certainly worth it! I love Jenny Colgan’s book in general but this one was especially good.

It tells the story of Flora, a young woman in her twenties. She was born on this tiny tiny island off the coast of Scotland, miles away from the hectic of central London where she is currently living and working as a paralegal at this big firm, doing her best to avoid anything connected with the place she was born and raised. After the things that went down at the funeral of her mother, Flora has done anything humanly possible to get away from Mure and the family farm which she believed had tied down her mother all her life.

As life is, however, her job suddenly catapults her back to the very place she never wanted to return to. And as she spends some time with her family and rediscovers her mother’s passion for cooking, she slowly becomes herself again. But with that comes the past and everything she tried so hard to forget… Will she face up to the heartache or flee back to the city where she can disappear in the masses and spend her days obsessing over her boss Joel? Read the book and find out yourself! 🙂

thumb_img_4575_1024

I have made it my mission over Christmas to read up on Jenny Colgan and devour as many books of hers as I could. But after reading The Summer Seaside Kitchen, I’m not sure any of the others can hold a candle to this one. Okay, maybe some of them can, but this one is a total gem and I really hope that there will be a sequel!

I love stories set in tiny places with a real value for family life and everything simple. The scenes where Flora is feeding her family, making their mouths water with her mother’s recipes are my favorite. There is something so pure and right about having a family, or any set of people around a table, eating a good home cooked meal and simply enjoying the time together. Our modern lives are often so hectic that we never have a second to appreciate the simple and real things. The early morning runs along the beach. Being slobbered on by Bramble the big dog. Letting some homemade fresh cheese melt in one’s mouth. Listening to people and taking their problems seriously. Following one’s dreams and not always worrying about money and the next big career move.

There’s something so right about this story that I find it hard to put into words. I just know that it captivated me the moment I started reading it and it didn’t let me go until I finished it only two days later. I followed Flora’s story with interest. Rooted for her and her boss. Watched her find her passion and cried with her when the heartache was too much to bare. Let’s just put it like this: I loved every single page of the book and ended up wishing it was just a few million pages longer so I wouldn’t have to let Flora go.

So here are two messages: One to all of you who are reading this post and haven’t yet read the book: What are you still doing here! Go to your local bookstore or open up Amazon and order the book. Now. Or you will miss out on 408 pages of pure bliss. And the second one goes to Jenny Colgan the woman herself. If by any coincidence you end up reading this post, can you please make sure that this desperate reader over here gets to read more of Flora and all her lovely friends? Pretty please? With a cherry on top? 🙂

Leave a Reply

